Real Love vs Social Media Love

picture source: http://www.pinterest.com

Well here it is guys the post that I was talking about in my semi life update post. Now this isn’t the first time I’ve thought about writing about this topic it’s just when I took a break from social media I took a break from writing about stuff that was on my mind. There are a lot of people in this world who falsely represent what a real relationship is as opposed to a social media relationship. I’m not saying if you post a ton of pictures of you and your significant other that it’s not real but I am saying that you’re trying to prove that what you have is real.

I believe in order to have a solid relationship you need to keep it private. It’s okay to post a picture every now and again but when you post picture after picture it seems as though you’re trying to prove to yourself that you’re actually in a relationship. Now when I talk about social media love I mean simply those couples who only show love to each other through social media. There are a ton of people on Instagram and YouTube who post lovey dovey posts about their SO which is fine because you can tell that they truly love that person.

Then you have those who announce everything they do on social media including their fights. Now the picture for this post is very accurate because it’s exactly what social media couples do. You don’t have to let everyone know every aspect of your life and that includes fights. Keep things private so that no one knows what you’re arguing about and then you won’t have to explain your relationship to people. As I mentioned in the other post I was inspired to write about this after watching Christian Guzman’s YouTube video about his side of his breakup.

I honestly felt that he didn’t need to respond to his ex-girlfriends video and he didn’t need to explain himself in general. People always want to say that social media ruins relationships which is completely false. People ruin their own relationships because they post about them on social media. You make the decision on what you want people to know therefore you give permission to others to pry and be nosy when it comes to your life and relationship. I see it time and time again someone blaming social media rather than themselves for putting their relationship out in the open.

Now I could go on a complete rant about this topic but this is just something I wanted to share because I’m seeing so many people mistake real love with social media love. Don’t get me wrong I’m not saying that it’s not possible to show real love via social media but lately I don’t think you can really capture it if you’re posting every single thing in your life. Let your relationship be your relationship and enjoy the moments you share with your SO without posting about it. It’s not hard to be with someone if you don’t constantly post about them.

Until next time,

Bre James

Leave a Reply

