A letter to the sad girl who feels forgotten and unwanted 

picture source: http://www.pinterest.com

Dear Sad Girl,

I know what you’re feeling is pain and regret and you have many thoughts that you’ll never forget. I know that you wish you could be happy but everyone seems to make it impossible for you. I know that you think you’ll be forgotten and I know how much you feel unwanted. What I want you to know is that you’re not alone. No matter how many tears you cry, how many thoughts you have, how many scars you try to hide just know you are never alone.

I want you to know that with time things will get better whether it’s a month from now or ten years from now, it will get better. You are loved by so many even if you don’t think that you are. All these feelings can be seen as “temporary” for they will not last for very long. I know the road seems dark, silent, and weary but keep your heart warm and you’ll see the light it will lead you to something better and brighter. I know all you want is to be able to say that you truly are doing fine and honestly believe it. I know that you want someone to look at you with love and passion the way you look at them.

I want you to know that you will find someone who thinks the world of you and only you. I know what it feels like to want to break down and end it all and forget everything that has ever happened. I know how much better you think life would be if you never existed but that’s where you are wrong. You were placed on this earth for a reason and even though you feel you weren’t, you have a purpose to fulfill. Don’t give up and think that you’re worthless because you are worth more than you know. Find yourself and let your love flow into the world around you. Make peace with your flaws, your emotions, your feelings, your thoughts, and let yourself love yourself.

I want you to know sad girl that you won’t be sad forever. Without storms there would be no rainbows and without pain there would be no laughter. It’s a twisted society out there that makes you believe you’ll never be good enough because of how much you feel. Don’t listen to them sad girl, put your head up and shine, be brave and smile. I want you to know that I’ll always be there for you, for you are who I used to be feeling so low, hopeless, forgotten, unwanted, unloved, and ashamed. I put myself through a lot of pain just to feel happy for five seconds and then realized that it wasn’t all just in my head it wasn’t just my brain. It was the world around me that told me I was unwanted, that I didn’t fit in with their standard of beauty. It was the world around me that caused me to change and because I endured it for so long I just got used to the pain and the negativity.

I don’t want you to go through what you’re going through at any point in life. I don’t want to see another brave soul end their life. I don’t want another girl to say she’s better off dead because I thought those same thoughts and I almost ended it all. I don’t want you to think that being six feet deep is the best answer because it’s not. You’re going to cry a bunch, wish you were perfect, and that the boy you loved would love you back. You’re going to wish you were somebody else but that will take away from your value. If you didn’t mean anything then why would you have been placed on this earth?

All I ask is that you take your time to love yourself, find yourself, and embrace who you are. Please keep your head up and please keep going for you will heal and you will find true happiness this I promise you.

With Love,

Bre James

Leave a Reply

